HHS announces grants of $579.7 million to fund HIV/AIDS primary care

HHS Secretary Mike Leavitt has announced grants of $579.7 million to fund HIV/AIDS primary care and support services for low-income residents living in major metropolitan areas hit hardest by the HIV/AIDS epidemic.

The 51 grants to Eligible Metropolitan Areas (EMAs) are awarded under Title I of the Ryan White Comprehensive AIDS Resources Emergency (CARE) Act, which is administered by HHS’ Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA). The grants include both formula and supplemental funds: formula funds are awarded based on the estimated number of people living with AIDS in the area, and supplemental funds are awarded competitively among EMAs based on demonstration of severe need and other criteria. A portion of the grant awards fund the Minority AIDS Initiative to target care and services to minority populations.

“For 15 years, the Ryan White CARE Act has been the cornerstone of HIV/AIDS treatment for low-income people in this country,” Secretary Leavitt said.

“In addition to providing high-quality care to those who can least afford it, it has given them hope for longer and healthier lives.”

Title I grants provide essential HIV/AIDS primary care and a wide range of support services including physician visits, case management, assistance in obtaining medications, home-based and hospice care, substance abuse and mental health services, and other related services.

“These grants support vital HIV/AIDS care and services, and give local communities autonomy to deliver care where it is most needed,” said HRSA Administrator Elizabeth M. Duke.

Since fiscal year 2001, the Bush administration has spent more than $10.4 billion in total CARE Act funding to help more than 571,000 individuals access life-sustaining care and services each year. President Bush has requested nearly $2.2 billion in fiscal year 2007 for the CARE Act, an increase of $95 million over FY 2006.


Provided by ArmMed Media
Revision date: June 11, 2011
Last revised: by David A. Scott, M.D.